Pass Me The Crown: Next Life I Want To Come Back As A Princess

As I headed down 14th Street in D.C. to pick-up breakfast at the local Cosi, I was reminded again that in my tiny single parent household there are no traditional roles.  By defacto, I am both the hunter and gathered.

It was still early and the DC streets were just starting to wake. There were clusters of homeless men loitering on street corners. “Can you spare some money pretty lady?” Hotel workers consumed cleaning their tiny patch of sidewalk. Young workers with Starbucks cups in hand, who with their J Crew looks, I pegged as working for a lobbyist or a Congressional aide. But, I’m from New York, so I assume everyone in D.C. works on The Hill.

Then came me: the gatherer-turned-hunter. Out early in search of food as my tribe of one waited back at the hotel.

Going back to caveman days, females have always been the gathers. Just the gatherers.  Me?  I’m doing two jobs for the salary of one.

Next life I want to come back as just the gathered. And, if not that, then a princess.

2 responses to “Pass Me The Crown: Next Life I Want To Come Back As A Princess

  1. I’d shoot for Princess. That would resolve all problems..:)

    Like

  2. I have to agree. Go for princess! Sparkly, glittery things are pretty!

    Like

Leave a Reply

