My Life In Knots: Cables

IMG_6334I discovered the joy of knitting cables late in my “knitting career.”  For years I deliberately stayed away from knitting anything with cables, assuming they would be too difficult for a bang-it-out-and-get-it-done knitter like myself.  That theory got quickly put to rest with the discovery of this pattern on Raverly (Cable Hat).  I’m now hooked.

IMG_6338The beauty of cables is they refine projects and appear more complicated and labor intensive than they actually are.  IMG_6340

The hat my daughter is wearing is one of several cables hats I made this past fall.  The blue cable next to the smaller infant cap were a gift for my neighbor.  I knitted the cable for her 3-year-old.  Then, not knowing what to do with the remaining yarn, I knitted a matching hat for her newborn.

5 responses to “My Life In Knots: Cables

  1. They are very pretty.
    I too just really discovered the joys of cables this fall.
    I fell in love with an owl pattern and I just had to brave the cables.

    Like

  2. I love cable knitting! I love it when you try it for the first time and you see how simple it is but it looks so complicated. Have fun!

    Like

  3. The cables look great!

    Like

Leave a Reply

