Thank God For Friday And Other Stuff

When the babysitter complained that the people at Savannah’s church camp “are really into that whole God-thing,” and then scrunched her face in disgust, I had to fight to keep my sarcasm in check.

“Quelle horror!” I wanted to say.

The church camp is in the heart of Manhattan’s Financial District, right off Wall Street and a stone’s throw from the New York Stock Exchange, so I found it ironic this was her concern.

To me, the church, with its peace slogans, payers and songs, is a blessing. Like most Manhattan working parents, summer throws me into a tizzy, as I have to piecemeal both the funds and camps to get me through the 9-week school break.  So, when our church announced that it was offering a camp I immediately pounced.  In my opinion, it had everything a good New York City camp should: an air conditioning building, a cemetery where kids can play (no playground on Wall Street), and financial aid.

“I am a single mom and have medical expenses” I called to say soon after submitting my application, emphasizing my role as head of household.

“What do you have?” she asked. I thought she meant condition, so went into a lengthy explanation about Savannah’s health problem.

“No, I mean what can you pay?”

I had negotiated enough salaries to know you never want to offer the first number.

“What seems reasonable to you?” I asked, stalling for time.

“How about $5.00?”

I was hoping for a miracle, but this was unexpected. Grateful, but still shocked, all I could think to say was “Do you want that check or cash?”

2 responses to “Thank God For Friday And Other Stuff

  1. You do make church day camp sound like a blessing. My kids have intermittently gone to vacation bible school, but I have to admit, I don’t care for it. They sometimes like it, and it makes my husband’s parents happy, and those are blessings, fersure!

  2. You make me laugh. Love it!

Leave a Reply

