Back-To-School Shopping With A Fashionista

Naomi Campbell’s abused assistants. Calvin Klein’s boy toys. Donna Karan’s Pilate instructor. I pity you all.

Having spent the previous evening with my nose in a Land’s End catalog, I question the sanity of anyone who works with a fashion designer.

With two laptops and a stack of catalogs between us, I spent a grueling two hours with my fasionista 8-year-old attempting to pick out back-to-school clothes. I had hoped to snap up a couple new outfits. Savannah wasn’t having it, as she approached the mission with the intensity of a designer preparing to show her fall collection.

“Hey, how about this?” I would say, pointing out yet another outfit, hoping to quicken the pace. It would be some ruffle tiered magenta skort or t-shirt with a glitter peace sign. What kid wouldn’t like these?

Savannah would lean in and squint. I hear her little head ticking: “Yea, but is it something CeCe and Rocky would wear on ‘Shake It Up’?”

After a long moment of silence, she’d say: “I like this!” It was always the most expensive, adult-like item. Once she flashed black suede boots that I myself would wear.

The $89.00 price tag made me cringe. There is also the ex-factor. He’s notorious for throwing out apparel he deems inappropropriate, which are most my purchases. It’s a problem that merits its own post.

I re-directed her back to this skirts, emphasizing that how “cute” – her favorite word – the would look when worn.

By 9:00 I was exhausted and out $300. She’s 8. I dread the teen years.

I now understand why my parents sent me to Catholic schools. It had nothing to do with God or religion. It was the uniform.

Amen.

2 responses to “Back-To-School Shopping With A Fashionista

  1. Yeah, uniforms. BTW, do you ever tell the ex to take the girl shopping?

    Like

    • Yes, many times. He believes the pittance he gives is highway robbery, and like many men, moans and groans about it. Thus, he recently had the audacity to ask me for money so he could buy her the shoes he wanted. As I said this issue is a whole other post.

      Like

Leave a Reply

